Editing a Role

After completing this lesson you should be able to:

- Change the permissions associated with a user role

- Rename an existing user role

To add or remove permissions from a user role

Click the Users button on the Navigation Bar (1) at the bottom of the screen.

Select the User Roles Sidebar tab (2). This will bring up the grid list view showing the existing User Roles.

The left hand column in the User Roles window displays each of the permisisons that can be assigned to a User Role. Subsequent columns show the current permissions for each user role. A tick represents the permission is currently active in that role.

To add a permission:

Find the permission you wish to add in the lefthand column, scrolling through the list as nessesary.

Place a tick in the permissions row under the column that matches the User Role you wish to add it to.

To remove a permission:

Remove the tick in the permissions row under the column that matches the User Role you wish to remove it from.

When you have made a change to the permissions the MODIFIED message will be displayed next to your username.

Click the Save button to finalise the changes and make the permission changes active.

To rename a role

On the User Roles tab click the Maintain Roles icon to bring up the Maintain Roles dialog box.

Highlight the User Role you wish to rename and click the Rename icon. This will bring up the Rename Role window.

Enter the new Role Code and Role Description and press OK to confirm.

0 Comments

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment